Please wait
Home banner 1 Home banner 1
Psychological Association of the
Psychological Association of the Philippines
Established since
Certified Specialists
200 +
200 +
10 +
10000 +
What is PAP?

Founded in 1962, the Psychological Association of the Philippines (PAP) is an organization committed to the promotion of excellence in the teaching, research, and practice of Psychology, and its recognition as a scientifically-oriented discipline for human and social development.

The PAP is the Accredited Integrated Professional Organization (AIPO) for registered psychometricians and psychologists of the Professional Regulation Commission (PRC) of the Republic of the Philippines. It is the oldest and largest professional organization of psychologists in the country.

To date, the organization certifies specialists in seven (7) areas of expertise within the broad discipline of psychology. Concurrently, it also has seven major divisions representing each of these specialty areas, which are as follows: Assessment Psychology, Clinical Psychology, Counseling Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Educational Psychology, Industrial-Organizational Psychology, and Social Psychology. Apart from these divisions, members also take part in the four (4) special interest groups (SIGs), namely, Teaching Psychology SIG, Mental Health and Psychosocial Services (MHPSS) SIG, Lesbian Gay Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) Psychology SIG, and Sports and Exercise Psychology SIG. (for more information, visit www.pap.org.ph)

What is PAPJA?

The Psychological Association of the Philippines- Junior Affiliates (PAPJA) Convention which began in 1987 is an annual national event that brings together undergraduate Psychology students from different colleges and universities in the Philippines. This gathering of future Psychometricians and Psychologists from all over the Philippines serves as an important venue for the sharing of recent developments in the field of psychology as a science, exposure to the practice of psychology through workshops, exchange of ideas, and fellowship.

On November 11, 1962, a small group of psychologists gathered at Selecta Restaurant along C.M. Recto Avenue for what would later be considered one of the most defining moments in Philippine Psychology. They came from different institutions, drawn to that single place by a common purpose. From the University of the Philippines (UP) came the Chairperson of the country's first Department of Psychology, Dr. Agustin Alonzo, Fr. Jaime Bulatao, S.J. founder of the Department of Psychology and the Central Guidance Bureau of the Ateneo de Manila University, was also present. With them were Dr. Sinforoso Padilla, who established the Psychological Clinic at UP, and Dr. Jesus Perpinan, who founded the Psychological Clinic at Far Eastern University. Dr. Mariano Obias was also present at that historic meeting presided over by Dr. Alfredo Lagmay of UP, which saw the birth of the Psychological Association of the Philippines (PAP).

Two months later, the PAP ushered in the new year by electing its first set of officers. It was on January 1, 1963 when Dr. Sinforoso Padilla became the Association's first President, Dr. Alfredo Lagmay the first President-elect, Fr. Jaime Bulatao, S.J. the first Executive Secretary, and Dr. Estefania Aldaba-Lim the first Treasurer. Atty. Narciso Albarracin, who helped the group with their incorporation papers, was sworn in as the Legal Counsel of the Association.

The first plenary meeting was held on March 30, 1963 at the Ateneo de Manila University in Padre Faura. Dr. Sinforoso Padilla delivered the presidential address. After that, the group held monthly meetings and picnics where scientific researches were presented.

In January, 1964, the first annual national convention was held at the NSDB Science Pavilion on the corner of Taft Avenue and Herran (now Pedro Gil), Manila. The high point of the convention was a Symposium on the Filipino Personality which was later published as a book and remains one of the classics in Philippine psychology.

1963 - 1964            Sinforoso Padilla 

1964 - 1965            Alfredo V. Lagmay 

1965 - 1966            Jaime C. Bulatao, SJ 

1966 - 1967            Estefania Aldaba-Lim 

1967 - 1969            Jaime C. Bulatao, SJ 

1969 - 1970            Abraham I. Felipe 

1970 - 1971            Pura M. Reyes 

1971 - 1973            Alfredo V. Lagmay 

1973 - 1975            Patricia B. Licuanan 

1976 - 1977            Natividad J. Munarriz 

1978 - 1979            Virgilio G. Enriquez 

1979 - 1981            Jaime C. Bulatao, SJ 

1981 - 1983            Ma. Lourdes A. Carandang 

1983 - 1986            Patricia B. Licuanan 

1986 - 1988            Allen L. Tan 

1988 - 1990            Noemi S. Catalan 

1990 - 1992            Amaryllis T. Torres 

1993 - 1994            Allen L. Tan 

1994 - 1996            Noemi S. Catalan 

1995 - 1996            Rosemarie S. Clemena 

1996 - 1997            Natividad A. Dayan 

1998 - 1999            Elena L. Samonte 

1999 - 2000            Imelda V. G. Villar 

2000 - 2001            Floranie P. Jacob 

2001 - 2002            Marylou U. Onglatco 

2002 - 2003            Conchita V. Umali 

2003 - 2004            Anna Miren Gonzalez-Intal 

2004 - 2005            Lucila O. Bance 

2005 - 2008            Allan B. I. Bernardo 

2008 - 2010            J. Enrique G. Saplala 

2010 - 2012            Maria Caridad H. Tarroja

2012 - 2014            Ma. Regina M. Hechanova

2014 - 2016            Angela V. Regala 

2016 - 2018            Margaret Helen U. Alvarez

2018 - 2019            Ron R. Resurreccion

Allan B.I. Bernardo (2009)

Ma. Lourdes A. Carandang (1988)

Annandaisy J. Carlota (2002)

Noemi de Vera Sanchez-Catalan (2002)

Betty Cernol-McCann (2002)

Rose Marie S. Clemeña (2002)

Virgilio G. Enriquez

Abraham  I. Felipe (1984)

Patricia B. Licuanan

Cristina J. Montiel (2016)

Allen L. Tan (2000)

Maria Caridad H. Tarroja (2016)

Amaryllis Tiglao-Torres (2000)

Elizabeth R. Ventura (2002)

Imelda V.G. Villar (2002)

PAP Board
Marc Eric S. Reyes, PhD
University of Santo Tomas
Glenn G. Glarino, PhD
Vice President
University of San Carlos
Clarissa F. Delariarte, PhD
Executive Secretary
University of Santo Tomas
Cely D. Magpantay,PhD
De La Salle University, St Luke’s Medical Center
Emmanuel V. Hernani, PhD
External Relations Officer
Cebu Normal University
Fr. Jose Geraldo D. Costa, PhD
Internal Relations Officer
SLU-Sunflower Children Center
Ron R. Resurreccion, PhD
De La Salle University
Board Members
Lolina N. Bajin, PhD
AFP - Zamboanga
Carlos N. Buan, PhD
AUF Medical Center
Eduardo C. Caligner, PhD
Ateneo de Manila University
Maryjun Y. Delgado, PhD
University of San Jose-Recoletos
Emily Joy M. Delgra, PhD
San Pedro College
Ann Maribel M. Hapin, RPsy
Cavite Center for Mental Health
Pricila Buzon-Marzan, PhD
St. Paul University Manila
Fr, Nestor L. Sibug, PhD
Holy Angel University
Felicidad T. Villavicencio, PhD
Bulacan State University
Florabel S. Suarez, RPm
Central Philippine University
Armenia B. Montaño, RPm
De La Salle Santiago Zobel School
Nino Jose Mateo, PhD
De La Salle University
Ma. Teresa M. Chiu, PhD
Executive Director
Maria Aurora B. Marquez
Linda G. Sevilla
Mercy G. Mondejar
Romeo C. Sevilla
Von Valenzuela